gremmen

Aug 10, 2010
Well my boys made it through the race season and I plan on attempting Top End Rebuilds on a YZ85 & (2) RM125's. I am new to dirt bikes as well, so don't know much about doing this. I will have to buy a Service Manual for the YZ85, and already have one for the RM125's. What I'd like to find out is, Which Brand of Pistons to buy? I heard Vertex was the best.

Also I was thinking of looking at the chutches. Whats the best brand for chutch parts? Is there any racing clutches I should look at.

I do have guys that can help me if I can't figure something out, but from what I seen in the RM Manual, I shouldn't have much trouble. Thanks for any opinions offered.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
If they're racing, IMO wiseco is the best choice. You have to remember when using a forged piston to warm the bike up properly before wringing on it though, and clearance is important so check the fit. Remember, when going aftermarket with the piston it's usually better to go with the piston manufacturers clearance rather than the OEM specification.

A cast piston can also work just fine and cost a bit less, but there too it's important that the clearance is within spec. Too much slop with a cast piston and you risk shattering a piston skirt, which can cause a great big expensive mess. If you have a shop manual, changing the top end will be no sweat. You'll be surprised how quick and easy it is.

Barnett, EBC, and Hinson all make quality clutch kits. There are also cheaper options that may or may not get your kids through a season, depending on how they ride.

Best of luck!!

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri
Clutch plates... always had the best luck with OEM.

gremmen

Aug 10, 2010
Thank you guys. I did want to use forged pistons, it's just what I like since I use all forged stuff in my Drag Car. Hopefully all goes smooth.

Oh, what's a good warm up proceedure.

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri