Jonala

~SPONSOR~
Sep 20, 2000
Yesterday was the first trials event in N.CA.

I rode Sportsman class with is the next step up from beginner. Fresh from a refresher trials class, I went into this event with some confidence that I will not shame myself.

With the exception of one section the other nine sections were within my abilities.

On the first lap, I did the best I have ever done since I started riding Sportsman.
At the first section on the 2nd lap, I went out of bounds while trying to jump over a log. Jumping logs is what I practice on all the time. As much as I tried to control my emotions, I lost my confidence and concentration. The second section was the toughest for me, so I got two 5's in a row.

From that point on I couldn't do anything right. I was even having problems just riding from section to section.

I tried to analyze if it was lack of confidence or fatigue. Riding from section to section was challenging and fatiguing let alone riding the sections themselves.

My score for the second lap was twice as much as my first lap with no cleans or even a 1 or 2! Just 5's and 3's.

Before lap 3 I was talking to a friend hoping maybe I would just loosen up. I ride up to section 1, determined not to screw up. I nail the first and section logs, and go out of bounds going over the third log.

Instead of moving on to section 2 I asked the checker if I could do the section again without a score. She let me ride it again. I hopped over the logs like Cabestany?? Go figure...

With confidence reinstalled, I screwed up section 2 but I had already tossed that section out of my plans. I then did just as well as I did on my first lap.