Trying my hand at shooting panoramas

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
This is my first attempt at shooting a panorama. It's a boring picture that is missing any near or middle reference points, but it did teach me some good lessons about this type of shooting.

It's 8 pictures stitched together using PTGui. ( http://www.ptgui.com/ Free demo available )

I shot them at ISO100, 18mm, 25 seconds at F16 using a Nikon 18-200 VR lens. I was on a bridge that shakes badly when cars drive over it, so even with the VR set to it's maximum (Active mode) the images are a bit soft.

I used a RRS ball head with an RRS Nodal slide and RRS Pano clamp to do the panorama sections.

Once you figure out the nodal point for your lenses the RRS Pano setup works really great.

Now I have to find some more interesting subject matter, and keep practicing. ;)

Attachments

• Bridge_pano_DRN.jpg
    Bridge_pano_DRN.jpg
    136.8 KB · Views: 171

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Here's what the RRS Pano setup looks like.

My camera has an Arca style quick release L bracket on the body to make it quicker and easier to shoot from a tripod (which I do most of the time ;) ) . The bottom of the Nodal slide (the long bracket) has a quick release dovetail so you can pop the Pano slide/clamp on & off the ball head really quickly, and the slide also has a quick release for the camera L bracket. You can pop the Pano stuff on in a couple of seconds, with no hassles. It will be easy to carry it along and pop in on quick if something interesting presents itself. Cool stuff.

Attachments

• pano_clamp_1_drn.jpg
    pano_clamp_1_drn.jpg
    127.7 KB · Views: 160
  • pano_clamp_2_drn.jpg
    pano_clamp_2_drn.jpg
    128.9 KB · Views: 168

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago