Understanding jetting on 99 YZ400

BillyWho

Sir-Breaks-Alot
Mar 22, 2001
Rich,
I'm new to the "dark side" and I don't get how my bike runs great at about 500 MSL, and then I went to Mammoth which is about 7,000 MSL and it ran and felt (power wise) EXACTLY the same.

I added about 15% oxygenated fuel to pump gas at Mammoth, but I can't imagine that stuff works THAT well. I want to get it jetted right for down here, and no I haven't checked the plug (I'll do that this Thursday) which I've heard is the ONLY way since there isn't the typical "quick" check on 2 strokes at the tip of the silencer for coloration.The only thing it does differently down here is it seems to detanate and stall (very seldom) at idle after a hard moto (for me) on a hot day. I'm assuming it is a hair lean, and any suggestions would be appriciated on whether to change the needle or air screw or both. If these things are really this untempermental, I think I'm in love!!:confused:

Thanks
Billy

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Billy - 15% by volume of an oxygenate like MTBE will provide an 2.5% additional oxygen by weight. Given the square root realtionship between air density and fuel density it makes sense that this might be enough to get you in the ballpark. As you've found out these engines tend to be fairly insensitive to anything but major changes in atmospheric conditions. It's the advantage that comes from a high compression engine with a clean efficient combustion chamber and smallish high velocity ports and valves. Those Yamaha guys are pretty smart :)

Sounds like you might be lean on the pilot circuit (most are). Depending on the fuel you can try turning the fuel screw out to about 2 1/4 to 2 1/2 turns for sea level to about 1000 ft and work up from there.

BillyWho

Sir-Breaks-Alot
Mar 22, 2001
It was 15% by volume, I left that part out. It was the KLOTZ brand but I'm not sure exactly what it was called. I guess it does work that well.