Well, no longer have a new KDX in my garage

Knobbyjake

~SPONSOR~
Jan 29, 2000
Some of you that have been on this site awhile probably remember my tale of woe. Bought my new '01 200 in Sept. of '02. Two days after I bought it I blew my back out. Had two back surgeries last year, the second was a fusion. The doc said my riding days were done. Well today my wife and two daughters went riding behind the house and I couldn't take it anymore. Dumped some fuel in the tank, turned on the petcock, lifted the choke and she fired on the second kick. Put all my gear on and hit the woods. Euphoria! I've been riding for 40 years until my back injury and other than things I couldn't do with the kids, not riding bothered me the most. The woods and dirt were perfect. The KDX is awesome! I had a blast. My timing and fitness are way off but after a couple hours the timing started coming back. Two and a half hours was enough. Right now my back is really sore but it's a good sore (I hope)! While I was laid up I did the lubing, put new Dunlop tires on it and cruised the internet buying all kinds of goodies for it. I got the PC pipe and silencer, fork and shock springs, pipe guard, everything but a skid plate, but I left it stock. And after riding it stock and being totally impressed by it's prowess i'm going to put the fork springs in it and leave the rest stock for the time being. Sorry so long, but it's great to be back and have a dirty bike for a change. :ride:

Josh D

Nov 11, 2001
What exactly do you guys mean by fusion? I recently had a titanium cage put into my back, and was thinking that might be similar to what was done to you guys. I made a post in the "riding techniques/injuries" section, that tells what happened, and I'd really appreciate it if you guys would fill me in on your experience. I've rode street since the op, but no dirt yet, soon hopefully. Just want to know what to expect.

Knobbyjake

~SPONSOR~
Jan 29, 2000