halowords

Sep 29, 2004
What two-stroke do I need?

I'm a bit of a novice on bikes I did great on my MSF course/tests and have decided, now that I can legally drive a motorcycle on the street, I decided to do the logical thing and get a dirtbike! Go figure. If nothing else, it makes my wife feel safer.

That being said, I'm 220 lbs., 27 years old, about 5' 9" and have some limited experience with motorcycles. I'm looking at getting a 2-stroke MX bike for motocross tracks and trail riding. I'd primarily like to do trails and jumps that happen to be on the terrain. I've pretty much decided on either Yamaha, Honda, or KTM depending on what I find and what I hear is best for my purposes.

So, getting to the point, at my weight what two-stroke would be best? Specifically, what size engine should I get, and what year(s) have certain advantages over other years. The YZ125's sound nice, but I'm worried my weight would bog down the engine (it seems like everybody else is lighter than I am). As for the 250's, the CR and YZ seem highly comparable. I know the '00-'01CR250's had great engines, but the '02s and later had better frames. wasn't sure what years of the YZ250's (or 125's) or KTM's have advantages over any of the others.

Any advice?

-Cheers

halowords

Sep 29, 2004
I'm a bit of a novice on bikes I did great on my MSF course/tests and have decided, now that I can legally drive a motorcycle on the street, I decided to do the logical thing and get a dirtbike! Go figure. If nothing else, it makes my wife feel safer.

That being said, I'm 220 lbs., 27 years old, about 5' 9" and have some limited experience with motorcycles. I'm looking at getting a 2-stroke MX bike for motocross tracks and trail riding. I'd primarily like to do trails and jumps that happen to be on the terrain, but there are a couple of MX courses close by as well. I've pretty much decided on either Yamaha, Honda, or KTM depending on what I find and what I hear is best for my purposes.