May 22, 2005
I've never own a dirt bike but have been riding street bikes for 5 years. I stopped riding about a year ago after a really scary accident and sold my bike. I'm desperately wanting to get back on two wheels but not on the street but on dirt. So anyways....I have no knowledge of this part of the sport, please help me.

-I'm 24 years old, 5-10 and weight about 178lbs
-I plan on using it for mostly riding with my brother in open areas, mostly for fun and play.
-I need something that doesn't need constant tweaking because I won't be riding much, again mostly for fun and play, so I'm guessing about 4-6 times a month, I'm mechanically inclined so that's not a matter in my case.
-My preferance in brand would be Yamaha or Honda, always owned Yamaha bike, and Honda cars.
-Now here is something I'm not sure about (2 or 4 stroke)? What exactly is the difference?
-Looking to spend no more then 3K

Again thanks for the help.

Ruff Rider

Sep 14, 2004
First, Congrats for gettin into dirt and youll find this site very helpful and comprehenisive.

When you choose a bike, engine size is a biggie. Your used to fourstrokes so u can compair your 600+ cc street bike to a 450cc dirt (thats the biggest yet still common size for a 4str.). 2str.s are a completely different animal. The power on a 4str. is spread out (as you know). On a 2str, the MX bikes (most common - Yama=YZ, Honda=CR) they'll have a 'hit' of power. For you this will take some getting used to (weighted flywheels will smooth the hit well).
Other big differences is:
2str.s are more popular (pre-2000ish)
2str. weigh less
2str. cost less (inital and repairs)
2str are easier to work on
4str have really good lowend power (tight trails)

Many are switching but most come back to a 2str

Now heres another concept:
A 250cc 4str = 125cc 2str