mmcfly8888

Aug 4, 2003
I am new to this sport and have little riding experience. I am 15 and about 5'2", 105 lbs. I probably won't be getting a bike for a while, but I am wondering: what bike is right for me? I don't want to get bored with it but I also don't want it to be too hard or expensive to maintain. I want it to last for a long time and for it to have room for me to grow. I want something good for trails and some light MX. I am thinking of a 4stroke like an xr100 or a ttr125. But if there is a good begginer 2stroke that works on trails and MX let me know. HELP!! WHAT BIKE SHOULD I GET??
Thanks for your help
-mmcfly8888

trout

~SPONSOR~
Apr 23, 2003
I know you would outgrow an xr100 pretty quick, I just got my 12 yr old daughter an 03 xr100 and she's doing great with it, but I think a 15 yr old would find it too small. I would check out the CRF 150 or 230 or a bigger XR. Maybe check out the kawasaki KLX line too. For 2 strokes, the kdx200 is awesome.

Porstala F9

Jul 30, 2003
The KDX 200 would be a great bike for MX and Trails, but I just can't reccomend that to someone 5'2.. I think you would have alot of trouble. Its 6.5 inches bigger than the XR100.

I think the XR100 would be your best bet. Hondas bikes are great to learn on.

My advice: Learn on the Honda XR 100 for a while, and when you really start to master it, you can always sell it. Honda XRs are the best beginner bikes, and hold an excellent resale value, so when you go to sell it, assuming you keep it in good condition, you can get top dollar for it, since they are in such high demand for those people looking for a slightly used XR for beginners.

Then, save money on the side, and try to get something on the lines of an MXer, 85cc bike or even the KDX.

mmcfly8888

Aug 4, 2003
Maybe if I got something a little bigger than the xr100 like a klx125 or tt-r125 because I don't want to outgrow it fast. Would that be a good bike to learn on?

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas