what kind of safety equipment should i buy?

theshark

Sep 27, 2005
im kind of new to dirt bike equipment and am curious on what you guys are using, what works and what doesnt.

so far i have a kbc dot/snell approved helmet and some SG10 boots on the way, but im curious about other stuff..

i saw that alpinestar makes a bionic jacket, which looks like it goes under your jersey and protects, spine, chest, kidneys, shoulders and forearm/elbows... its kinda expensive but so is replacing any one of those body parts.

anyone use something like this?
i also ride sport bikes so something that i can use for both would be better.

thanks

tyesai

Nov 4, 2004
I have a 661 one pressure suit and yes it was expensive, but no more expensive than buying a chest protector,elbow pads, kidney belt, and spine protector. It is cheaper if you add it up that way. I also just purchased a regular chest protector and some elbow pads because it gets so friekin hot here in Arkansas. The 661 isn't really that bad if you don't wear a jersey over it though, but I like to have options until it cools down some. If you already have the helmet and boots I would say the next thing you would want is either some body armor or at least a chest protector. After that I would say you might want some knee guards, I have the thor force and love them, a little uncomfy when you first put them on but I don't even notice them while I am riding.

mtk

Jun 9, 2004