What should I get for my first bike?

Danarchy

Dec 5, 2007
Hi, I live in San Diego County, and I'm looking into getting a dirt bike. I'm a total novice, never even ridden a street bike before, and I'm looking for any advice on what bike to get. I'm going the used route because I'd like to keep it under $2000 for my first bike. I'm not looking to race, just to have fun in the desert and woods.

I'm 23, 5'6", and 150 lbs.

I've looked around a little, and the CRF 230 seems to be the best bet. There are a lot of KX250s around for a good price, but I think that may be a little too much bike.

Also, would a 150 be too underpowered to consider?

From what I've heard, 4-strokes are easier for a beginner to handle, as well as easier maintenance. Should I consider 2-strokes?

All in all, I'm just looking for suggestions on what bike to get.

Thanks,
Dan

TC21

May 31, 2007
I would say a kdx200, TT-r250 or a 125 and maybe a shaved seat. Not sure if you are tall enough for a 37.4 or a 39" seat height.

A 250 would be way too much bike for a beginner.

Jan 3, 2007
You could go with a 125 2 stroke, a Kawasaki KDX220, KDX200 (2 strokes), or a XR250. All of them would make an alright begginer bike and would give you a fun time for the money.

elcamino12sec

Jan 16, 2006
The crf230 would be my first choice but you probably wont find 230 for 2 grand or less unless it real beat up, a 125 is probably not the best choice for just playing around riding, a 125 mx bike only makes power when in the high rpm. the kdx200/ 220 is a good option as is the xr250, xr200 or klx250. Or get the best of both worlds and look at the klr250 or xr250l becasue they are street legal. The bikes I have suggested have been made for many years and can be found used in your price range, thats why I recomended them.

bmcd308

Feb 9, 2007
+1 on el camino.

"I've looked around a little, and the CRF 230 seems to be the best bet."

Tough to find one on your budget, though, and they are heavy.