which 94 kdx mods should i do.

banderson

Apr 30, 2002
so far on my first kdx i have put a procircuit pipe and silencer tossed the air box lid fresh top end new reeds and i have just put on the skid plate a few minutes ago. i am concidering putting on a rad valve kit and changing the stock rear sprocket but dont know which size i want. i want more torque but dont want to loose to much speed i have a 47 tooth rear and i am wondering if going to a 49 tooth rear and a 12 tooth front would be worth it and make that much of a diference i am new to the sport so any help on any thing else i should do to the bike would be a big help.thanks

banderson

Apr 30, 2002
i also forgot to add the bike is leaking oil out of the silencer not a whole lot but still enough to let me know i am running it to rich and i was wondering if i should change the oil i am running in my gas from 32:1 to 40:1 and would that make a difference.

TransAm77

Feb 10, 2002
On my '89 Kdx I run a 49 tooth rear sprocket, and a 13 tooth front. I like this gearing better than stock. I can get whellies in third gear, and still have decent top end. I wouldn't adjust you premix ratio to much. As I understand it, you should get the bike jetted for one ratio and stick to it.

Canadian Dave

Super Power AssClown
Apr 28, 1999
The brand of oil and pre mix ratio you are running can make some difference to the amount of spoog your bike is producing but rich jetting ( too much fuel) is the main culprit. I'd start by fine tuning your jetting and see if that doesn't clear up most of your problem.