jeffg13

Dec 10, 2002
I am completely new to riding and it sounds like the TT-R will be a good bike to start out on. (If I should start out with something different let me know). I am 18, 140, 5'8'', and have no experience. I am wondering whether to start with the TT-R 125L or go with a larger TT-R.

Thanks,
Jeff

pbajeff

Nov 18, 2002
The TTRL is a little bit bigger than the TTR. The L has larger wheels and disc brakes. If you are looking to get new, my personel opinion would be to go with the Honda CRF150. It has better suspension and it is about the same price. Plus - it is a Honda!! That is my personel pick, I looked at and compared the TTRL to the CRF for several months before deciding on the CRF for my 14 year old. If this is to be your first bike, I would go with used, just to keep down the initial expense. Plus you are going to go down on it and it does not hurt quite as bad on a used as a new. You can find some used TTRs pretty reasonable. The CRF is new for the 03 year and there are not any used ones to be had yet.

jacobone

Feb 3, 2003
i ride a ttr125l and it rocks but you are a bit larger then me so i would go for the 225 its bigger and faster just what you nee

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
Do NOT choose the TTR225. It is too big and heavy. The only thing it has is a decent seat height but you can get that from the DRZ250 as well and it is a much easier machine to ride. It is not as wide as the TTR 225 for sure.

I know of many people who are cool with the 225 but they would ride a lot better (and safer) on an XR200.

Ivan

oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
a big question is how aggressive are you. If you have the tendency to be more aggresive in sports the ttrl will quickly be to lacking in power at your age and size. I have a ttrl125 and it is great to play with and my 14 yr old has a great time on it as a break from his CR125 but if you really want to try MX on it it won't work.