1990 Yz125 Any good info/fact out there?????

Nofear90

Apr 5, 2010
i recently got a 1990 yz125 it needed a clutch boss, power valve holder assembly(right hand side), and a few other small things... I was woundering if anybody has any info what so ever about this bike??? Any info would be greatly appreciated.... THanks

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
Fun bike, that's about all the info I have for you. Been riding a 92 a little bit, trying to get it right. Pretty reliable, little to no bottom end, absolutely rips once it's on the pipe.

Nofear90

Apr 5, 2010
I got a fmf gold series fatty and a pro curcuit factory sound silencer... I need to re pack my silencer any sujestions??? I was also wondering what's the best choice for fluids gear oil, coolant, 2 cycle oil, etc???? What should i torque my clutch spring bolts to???? I'm Kinda new to the yz world... I'm likin it thow... Should I use lok-tight or no??? Anything I need to know or that will be useful please fill me in... Thanks for everything

SS109

Jul 27, 2009
First things first, get yourself a service manual. Seriously, that is the first step to educating yourself about your bike.

Second, read this forum for anything relating to 2t bikes in general and read it all! Then, search out other forums and read all the info you can get there as well. Use your head (common sense) to sort out the good info from the BS.

Good luck, wear your gear, and have fun!

Nofear90

Apr 5, 2010
I need to the torque specs for my clutch springs??? If im correct i think its 8-11 ft/lbs.... Is it a good idea to use lock tight on the clutch spring bolts???? I understand that a manual would help out alot... but at this day and time its not a priority... Im not a noob by along shot i know my way around a 2 stroke... I was just tryin to get some of what they call Ol' Tymer Knowledge that only comes with age... LOL... So if anybody has any useful or just Common info on my bike please fill me in.... Thanks :laugh:

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008