i need help choosing a new front tire

john stu

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 7, 2002
I need a new front tire for my cr250 and I want the best possible front tire for dirt with a hard base with a thin layer of loose dirt on top (the tracks I ride tend to have these conditions) what do you guys recommend? I have been running the Dunlop 490 or 739 an I need a better front tire. IM confused do I get hard terrain because of the hard base? or do I get intermediate because of the loose dirt on top?

SoCalMatt

Dec 8, 2004
I just installed a Kenda Carlsbad front tire today. I have never tried one before so I'll let you know how it goes. I too normally ride on hard surface conditions with a sandy, slippery surface. I'm probably not riding this coming weekend because I'm "On-Call" at work, unfortunately. :(

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
While not a fan of a the 756 on the rear (wears way too fast), they are great on the front. Also look at the Maxxis HT, great on hard pack, which IMHO is what you should be concerned about based on your decription of conditions.

Rcannon

~SPONSOR~
Nov 17, 2001
I just put aBrigestone 401F on the front of my bike. I usually use the 756 RR's which are excelent. The reason I went with the 401f is because it is available in a 90/100-21 size. This is almost 1/2 inch wider than normal. I really like the tire so far. and believe it was worth the 50.00 that I paid at Rocky Mountain atv.

Motorep146

Dec 10, 2004
john stu said:
I need a new front tire for my cr250 and I want the best possible front tire for dirt with a hard base with a thin layer of loose dirt on top (the tracks I ride tend to have these conditions) what do you guys recommend? I have been running the Dunlop 490 or 739 an I need a better front tire. IM confused do I get hard terrain because of the hard base? or do I get intermediate because of the loose dirt on top?