Delgaty

Mar 30, 2009
I bought a compression tester the other day and did a test tonight. First off I think it's completely retarded that you pretty much have to take the gas tank off to get the tester into the head. So I got it in pretty tight, gave her about 15 kicks and the best I could get was 115 psi. I had the fuel turned off and the air filter off, though I don't think that should affect it. From what I hear I should have somewhere between 140 and 170 psi but I don't even know if I did the test right. I just bought the bike and haven't ridden it yet, but the guy rode it around his compound for me (I'm still learning to ride). Did I do the test right? I have no problem paying for a new piston, I talked the guy down quite a bit from his asking price so a couple hundred for new parts isn't too bad, but it would just suck if I can't ride this weekend.

Thanks,
Ryan

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
Getting it in there "pretty tight" vs having it properly installed could be an issue. As far as the test once it's screwed in properly just like the spark plug would be then just hold the throttle wide open and kick it over until the gauge doesn't move any longer. I'd expect it to be between 150-190. Unless I find a track open there is a good chance we will be at Seddon's on Sunday if you happen to be in the area.

Delgaty

Mar 30, 2009
Chili said:
Getting it in there "pretty tight" vs having it properly installed could be an issue. As far as the test once it's screwed in properly just like the spark plug would be then just hold the throttle wide open and kick it over until the gauge doesn't move any longer. I'd expect it to be between 150-190. Unless I find a track open there is a good chance we will be at Seddon's on Sunday if you happen to be in the area.