binthedirtnow

Mar 29, 2005
Hi guys, I really need your advice. I have a 2002 kx 125. Now it already has an FMF fatty, boyesen dual stage reeds, and a new top end, otherwise stock. I am a novice rider, but learning pretty fast. So far I like to ride intermediate trails, fire/logging roads, and beginner and vintage mx tracks. I weigh about 165 without gear. But I will eventually want to ride normal mx tracks when I learn to jump better. I like the 125 - it's light, stops well, quick reacting, easy to maintain, and seems fairly powerful. These are all the traits I want in an off-road motorcycle. But I am starting to want more low-mid power so I can really roost!! So, I've been thinking, should I mod the 125 to get more roost power or do should I get a bigger bike?? Please give me your honest opinions... I would also like your opinions or experiences with the following mods I am considering for the 125 to give it more roost boost:
DSP powernow; Boyesen RAD valve; Gearing change(currently 12/49); smaller carb(currently TMX38); Flywheel weight(how many ounces?); Cylinder porting and head mods from Eric Gorr.
I am thinking I might want to mod the 125 because if I bought a bigger bike it would be used, and I don't know if I want to go through the thing fixing all the busted/worn-out stuff like I had to do with the 125 already. But if that is the best direction, to go with a bigger bike, then I will. Nevertheless, if the 125 could keep me smiling and roosting, I'd rather keep it! However, I'm not sure I want to do any big-bore/stroker mods.
B.

binthedirtnow

Mar 29, 2005
But how often would I need to replace the topend with a 144cc kit in this motor? Are there any reliability problems with such a modification to this motor?
B.

Apr 1, 2005