Votes: 5 45.5%
  • NO DEAL - I would pass.

Votes: 6 54.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

omaits

May 23, 2005
2004 CRF450r for $3300? A deal???

I am searching for a solid 450 that isn't going to break the bank. I am fairly new to dirt bikes so I thought I would get a couple opinions.

I found a 2004 CRF450r for $3300.

Here is the list of mods...

1. Re-valved Suspension by DGS or DPS (whatever!)
  2. Skid plate
  3. Hydraulic Clutch
  4. Larger capacity clutch cover
  5. radiator guards
  6. fat bars w/ riser clamps
  7. tall seat
  8. white plastic
  9. new tires
  10. new chain and sprockets

Maintenance:
  1. Valves shimmed twice since new
  2. New timing chain
  3. New rings

I have yet to see the bike, so I can't vouch for its condition. However, considering it is overall pretty good condition...what is the verdict...DEAL OR NO DEAL?

Last edited:

HajiWasAPunk

Aug 5, 2005
That doesn't sound terribly low to me for a 3 year-old bike. New you can get them all day long for 6500 and I would say they easily lose 2 grand the first year alone. Not a terrible price but certainly not a steal imo.

Thumper96

Sep 3, 2005
Depending on where your from i have a 04 CRF450 for 3000 obo the suspensions done valves were just done good tires oil change every other ride it got troy Lee graphics let me know will deliver

lwsmithjr

~SPONSOR~
Sep 18, 2002
Here in the Southeast, $3300.00 would be a good deal on an '05. It would be about the most someone would pay for an '04. However, pricing varies greatly across the country, so where you live makes a difference. We have '06's going for $4K around here.

That bike has a lot of extras, but most of the time, extras don't increase the value of the bike to anyone except the guy who owns it (or you if they were extras you would add anyway). Re-valved suspension is a plus if you and the guy you are purchasing from weigh roughly the same and ride at the same level. Otherwise, it may be detrimental to you as the new owner.