superdave144

Apr 19, 2008
Calling all mini-dads...

My four year old has a 2005 JR50. He is getting pretty good and we're thinking of going racing soon. I've got a couple of questions though:

First, I'm looking for ways to make the bike run cleaner and faster. I have heard that you can get a second gear out of the bike but I'm not sure the effort is worth the performance gain on the track. Also, I've seen an FMF pipe/silencer for this bike, but will it still be legal for the oil injection class if I bolt it on?

Secondly, my son is really tall for his age (Pastrana-esque). What can I do to improve the ergonomics for him (seat, handlebars, suspension etc.)? I cringe when I see him crunched over and bottoming out the suspension.

I used to race intermediate cross country but I'm new to the minis. Also, I'm not the most seasoned technician. If anyone has any ideas at all for me drop me an email. Input is appreciated.

motocross3

Jan 30, 2008
I don't know if yours is the same as my brothers buy on his theres a restrictor on the exhast pipe at head mount and one where the carb mounts to the manifold. removing these really help, i removed them from him and its keeping him occupied for now. and if hes tall and ready for a faster bike you might want to consider moving up to a PW 80

superdave144

Apr 19, 2008
I removed the restrictor in the exhaust pipe but I didn't find one where the carb mounts to the cylinder.

I wouldn't mind putting him on a bigger bike except for the fact that we wanna start and the next step up in bikes is a Cobra and the finances aren't really available for that yet.

Tomsti

Mar 17, 2008
If you're going racing figure out what class and better get their rule book prior to making mods. It would suck to do a bunch of work only to find out you can no longer run the class you wanted.

Jasle

Sponsoring Member
Nov 27, 2001