Jan 10, 2001
I've been riding my 1998 KDX 220 for about 4 years now and I love it. I just have a craving for something new, in orange flavor. I'm gonna keep my KDX but wondering about a KTM 250EXC for the trails, what do yall think? By trails I mean eastern trails, which consist of tight winding, rocks, trees in your face, steep hills, mud, river crossings and all the other wonderful nasties that provide so much fun. I'd like to have more power, not to much more but more, and still have excellent tractor stump pulling torque like my KDX provides. Will the KTM do this for me? The KTM has all the stuff that I want to put on my KDX already. Great rims, bar, chain, clutch, suspension maybe, not sure. Anyway what are some good sites with lots of info on the 250 exc?

Thanks a lot!

yota

Oct 9, 2001
The 250 EXC is a great bike, but have you considered a KTM 200 exc? It is much lighter and makes almost as much power. It also costs less.

ROADRACER

Oct 7, 2000
I have a 99 250 exc and love it for the trails. I ride with guys that have the 200 and 300 exc.The 300 will tire you out more when its really tight but has more torque than the other two put toghether. The 200 is a bit lighter but to me I feel like I have to over rev it to get it to what the 250 will do.I may be partial but I think the 250exc is the best bike for the tight woods.It has plenty of power and is still flickable. All that being said I think that you'll love the power but may find the suspension a little harsh ( until you get it dailed in) when compared to your KDX.

Good Luck Mike

jeb

Jul 21, 1999