XRBOB

Sep 13, 2004
Please help, I've just bought an xr500r and I'm having a hard time kicking it into life.I've changed the plug and the air filter.
There is a spark and gas is flowing.
It starts ok (usually) when it's cold but it's a pig when it's hot.
Although last week when I was riding and couldn't get it started somebody said "let me try for you" and it started first time, so I'm guessing it's just me.
I've ridden street bike bikes for 18 years (so I know bikes) but this is my first attempt at dirt bikes and the manly art of kick starting a bike.......... Any help or advice would be appreciated

Bob

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
If your valves are set to tight (don't have enough clearance), it will cause trouble hot starting.

As far as technique, use the kicker to slowly bring the piston to the top of the compression stroke. You will feel it get harder and harder to move. Just after TDC, the piston will get easier to move with the kicker. Stop slowly moving the kicker just as the piston passes TDC. Now raise the kicker to the top and kick as hard as you can. By getting the piston just past the compression stroke before you kick for real, the piston has a chance to build up more speed before the next compression stroke. Also, some bikes are very picky about throttle position - most don't want any throttle unless they are flooded. If flooded, kick with it all the way open until it starts (don't open and close it).

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
XRBOB said:
the knack is ???????

Bob.