89 cr250 - plated or steel lined cylinder?

Steve St.Laurent

Mi. Trail Riders
Feb 6, 2006
I'm new to the off road world and just recently bought this 89 cr250. I just changed the air filter for the first time and found that the previous owner had assembled the airbox/carb boot incorrectly and it's been sucking in unfiltered air and there was a good bit of dirt in the intake. I did a compression check and I'm only getting 100 psi so it looks like it's top end time. Never done one before so I'm researching what I need to do. I've done a lot of research on here, reading my service manual, and Eric Gorr's twotopweb write up. I'm not real clear on whether I have a plated or steel lined cylinder. The service manual talks about reboring for an oversized piston if it's outside the service limit and makes no mention of replating so I'm assuming that it must be steel lined - anyone know for sure? If that's the case and I do need to have it bored out can any automotive machine shop handle that or are there special considerations for the ports? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

TimberPig

Jan 19, 2006
It's Nikasil plated stock, but could have been sleeved. A magnet will tell you for sure.
If it's worn out, replating is the preferred option, although steel sleeving is used by some. Some automotive machine shops are capable of handling a 2 stroke bore job if it has been sleeved, although many have no clue that the ports need to be chamfered to prevent ring snagging.
Thats about all I can tell you until you get that top end torn down.

Steve St.Laurent

Mi. Trail Riders
Feb 6, 2006