Fred T

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 23, 2001
The satisfaction of spending 12 hours on service maintenance on my KDX so she's ready for a few hundred more miles of trail riding before it needs anything. I'm a kinda slow mechanic but it feels good to know I checked over lotsa things. Tore the entire rear end off to clean and grease all suspension and linkage bearings. I also cleaned and checked rear wheel bearings - put a new X-ring chain and sprockets on. I took the front end off and cleaned and greased the steering bearings. Cleaned the WER and greased. Took off the handguards and replaced the grips and while I was at it took apart all the brake, clutch and throttle controls and clean and lubed them too. All the brakes were cleaned while I was in there and both throttle and clutch cables were cleaned, greased and lubed. I got the front brake working really good with an adjustment. Tranny oil is changed. Airbox is clean and filter cleaned. Doesnt' sound like i did much but it was time consuming work and I always seem to have a problem with something taking me way longer than it should. This time I messed up the lower shock bearing trying to drive it in with a socket instead of pressing in in with a vise. Lesson learned - had to keep the old one, it was still good anyway. I always seem to have trouble with that circlip that holds the countershaft sprocket in too -took me 20 minutes to get it on. :| Ahhh...but I feel good about the bike now. I spend a lot of time on service but I have great luck with things lasting a long time. Knock on wood! ;) Thanks for listening.....

Mac

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 17, 2000
Bwahhh ha ha lol.....you sound just like me. Had the same problem with the lower shock bearing finally had to dremel that thing out. I recently rebuilt my bike when I had it apart installing the EG 225cc kit. While it was apart I decided to replace all the bearings, what a PITA!