kmmtn1

Jan 17, 2002
I need some ballpark suspension information. I have more money than time and I'm a lousy mechanic. I weigh 210 and I'm an junior/intermediate rider who is slowing down with the family and age.

I rarely jump and my riding area ranges from technical tight trail/tree sections to 4 and 5 gear fire roads. In the winter and spring I ride in heavy rutted areas with rocks and roots. I would like to have the bike ride a little on the plusher side with good turning characterisics.

Can someone make a solid recommendation on making a stock 02' 220 closer to what my needs are. I have a good local shop and want to avoid sending my forks and shock out in the mail (again I don't have the time).

Spring size (s) ??
Manufacturer ??
Oil level ??
Settings ??
Valving ??

I know riding conditions and rider and preference change I just want a ball park...Thanks.

KM:D

Fred T

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 23, 2001
Some suggestions:

Spring size (s) ?? Front .42 Rear 5.2
Manufacturer ?? Order from MX Tech
Oil level ?? use your local tuner
Settings ?? use your local tuner
Valving ?? use your local tuner - gold valves probably

At 210 you may or may not need to change that rear spring, that's up to you. I run .42 with 5.0 stocker. If you are not shipping out your suspension then this local tuner can do everything for you if he knows what he is doing. If cannot answer the remaining questions then I don't think I would use him myself.You really don't need to do a revalve if you don;t want to. Setting up the springs for your weight and balanced front to rear will make a nice difference. A fork oil change set at 100MM will do the trick. I suggest you use Mobil 1 ATF in your forks. (It's about 7.5 wt)

Have you visited just KDX for some bike prep, set up suggestions?
http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/