KDX 17

Aug 1, 2003
Hey everyone...

I took my 96 KDX200 to the shop to get a new piston and cylinder sleeve, and the guy "accidentally" bored it to 240...now I was wondering if I'll see any problems, or any of the maintenence on it will change...I know the guy said he'll take care of the jetting, because that will have to change (it'll need to be richer, right?) but other than that, I was just wondering if I'll encounter any problems with the oversized cylinder. And my other question...now that it's grown a little bit, what seperates the engine performance from the KXs? gearing? Or do alot of other factors play in? BTW, its got an FMF exhaust and boyesen reeds I believe...

I'm kinda new to dirtbiking...say a month, so excuse the ignorance...thanks, cliff.

Racer#213

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Nov 14, 2002
i dont' know about the problems, but you'll prolly have to run race gas. did you have to pay for the boring or just hte new sleeve and piston?

KelvinKDX

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 25, 2000
Originally posted by KDX 17
Hey everyone...

I took my 96 KDX200 to the shop to get a new piston and cylinder sleeve, and the guy "accidentally" bored it to 240...

What piston diameter are you running??  ie.  what is the diameter of the bore?

KDX 17

Aug 1, 2003
well, we were originally supposed to get a new top end and stay 200 (198cc stock I think?), but the guy "accidentally" bored it, and he said he'll jet it for 93 octane. I'm not sure what size the piston is, but i'll find out tomorrow when I pick it up. We didn't have to pay for the overbore, but it kind of evened out b/c of what he charged for surfacing... I'm assuming it's a Wiseco piston and a L.A. sleeve, because that's what he mainly uses. From what I've heard, the guy does awesome work, so I guess I'll have to let you guys know how it runs after I take it out on saturday...thanks for the help

Racer#213

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Nov 14, 2002