jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
I found out the stock KDX CDI limits top end power in two ways: 1) it uses a 1.2uf capacitor instead of the normal 1uf and that causes a stronger spark at low RPM but weaker at high RPM, 2) Its timing curve is not retarded enough at high RPM and that limits top end power. So, being an electronics technician, I made my own modified KDX CDI which fixes these two problems. I used my KDX200 on the street (in Paraguay), trail, and MX track and found no drawbacks, only benefits.

Chuck78

Feb 1, 2023
I'm interested in an improved ignition... are you making any more? Another fella was making some, but was postponing any more until he decided on a better timing curve or multiple adjustable curves, as a lot of people didn't like the harsh kickback that the high performance ignition allows when the situation allows it.
It was also indefinitely postponed until he was more wrapped up with the e-start conversion kit he was designing for the KDX H-series...

jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
I am waiting to receive the main capacitor to finish one I am making now. You can message me with your email so I can inform you when it is ready.
As to the "harsh kickback" I have no idea what that person is talking about. I sold 16 previously and never had any negative feedback. I used mine for over a year and never had anything to complain about. Maybe this person who tried to imitate me didn't do such a good job and used a SCR transistor with different specs as the one I used. If you have a Ricky Stator coil then it puts out higher voltage and makes the ignition more advanced and needs to have the stator plate moved CCW some to prevent excess ignition timing below 5000 RPM.

Chuck78

Feb 1, 2023
All very good info to know, Jag!
I actually had replied to your posts on kdx rider in the past year, but I don't recall seeing a reply.