Clicking noise from top end??

JTS016

Aug 12, 2009
I just recently purchased a 2003 KDX220, and I love it! I am unsure of the history of it, it was a trade in at a local dealer, and they were selling it "as is". I have only been able to ride it a couple of times, and I am a noob when it comes to what a 2 stroke is supposed to sound like through the range of it's powerband. I noticed, to me, what sounds like a clicking noise in the top end when I am either slowly accelerating, or cruising at a constant speed. Any thoughts on what this could be, and how to fix it? Or is this normal? Thanks.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
If it goes away under acceleration, it's most likely just the KIPS noise. You can search for "kips rattle" and get more information than you care to read through. It's quite normal however, so no worries. If it's a noise that gets louder when you rev it, then you could have a problem with top end wear.

J.

JTS016

Aug 12, 2009
Thanks for the info julen_d. I'll make sure to listen for it when I'm ragging it out, when I take it out this weekend. The noise is not there when I rev it in neutral, just riding. I hope I don't have to do a top end, but it probably wouldn't hurt. I cleanded the carb today. It was spotless!! Which was very suprising because the dealer told me the guy who traded it said he never rode it, so who knows how old the gas in it was, and he left the fuel valve on.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
I gotta tell you, you should take a peek at that top end. The stock 220 cast pistons are notorious for grenading into thousands of tiny pieces, which usually results in a top and bottom rebuild. If the piston has been replaced with a wiseco you should be good to go, if not, you should put a wiseco in it ASAP. It's not hard to do, not very expensive, and could save you a lot of money and heartache in the long run.

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009