cr 125 wont start now!!! (HELP)

Jus*

Feb 16, 2009
Hi i'm new to this,
Anyway i have just brought my first bike an cr 125 1998. It needed some work doing to it but it would start fine ( Just wouldn't go to good) Needed new reeds, Ive just Put in some v-force reeds, new fuel, oil etc... Now it wont start. i had left the bike for approx 3-4 months without starting it, i cleaned and tested the spark plug and its got a spark, As im new to bikes i not sure what esle it could be, Also i tried to bumb start it and it still wouldn't go. Any ideas lads

yz80nbeast

Jan 25, 2007
clean the carb really good, and if you havent done so already, buy a new plug, my kx125 had spark but not enough, i changed my plug and she started right up first kick

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
IndyMX said:
take apart the carb and clean it thoroughly..

yz80nbeast said:
clean the carb really good,...
Would you like a cracker Polly?

When you say it has a spark, can you describe the spark? What color? Is it small or very noticable?

You left the bike for 3-4 months, where did you leave it? Inside or outside? Do you live in a wet or corrosive environment where the electrical connection might be more prone to corrosion? Is the plug wet with fuel? When you take the carb apart to clean is like IndyMX smartly suggested be sure tou understand how it goes back together. I suggest getting a factory Honda service manual or at least look at an exploded parts diagram such as bike bandit or Service Honda have. Don't bother with a cheap house brand spray cleaner use something like CRC, Berryman's, or Syntec to make sure everything is really getting cleand and not just spread around.

For a bit more detailed info than even what I provided check out http://www.eric-gorr.com/carb cleaning and jetting.pdf which is from Eric's book which SHOULD be required reading for anybody that owns a bike. The book is full of great info and is priced very reasonably.

Last edited:

Jus*

Feb 16, 2009