Fouling plugs after new reeds

ZKDX

~SPONSOR~
Aug 23, 2002
Okay, so here's the deal. Stator coil went bad in october, after about 7weeks of crap, finally got new one. (Prior to this bike running well). Put new one on, bike runs better, much better, but by the second ride fouled plug, new plug, rode for a week or so on and off, fouled again, replaced, repeated, plug very oily, got to checking out my reeds, were out of spec, put new ones on tonight, FMF POWER REEDS. Put bike back together, fouled 3 plugs in about 10mins. Would idle and putt fine, as soon as i got on it---choke! Oily Plug!...it's an 87kdx 200, stock jetting: Mikuni VM34SS, 320 main, 25 pilot. I'm thinking that i must need to go to a leaner jet, but i've never messed with main jets (yes, i'm a newbie!), i'm afraid i might go to lean. Any recommendations, what IS the next lean jet size, and exactly where to buy jets for this carb from. ---Also on a sidebar, if you foul a plug, is it possible to use it again(after proper cleaning and gapping), or is it just $ down the tube?...thanks for any info....sorry so lengthy, wanted to be specific!

Fred T

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 23, 2001
Your bike is old and many on these boards may not have experience with it. Conatct Jeff Fredette.

www.frpoffroad.com

Sprout

Dec 10, 2002