dan4011

Sep 12, 2004
i have a 96 cr80 and i noticed that the left front fork is leaking fluid, what do i need to do to fix this, im thinking ill have to fill the forks back up with fork fluid and replace the leaking seal.
how much (estimated) would this cost to be done at a shop (for both forks)
thanks

dan4011

Sep 12, 2004
i looked at the forks, and tried the credit card trick on them, i think it helped on one and i checked the one that wasent leaking and found it was completely dry of fluid, also the seal on this one was nasty and i think it needs replacing.
so what i need is 2 new seals and to fill the forks up with oil. how and where do i put the oil in and how will i know its full. is it hard to install the seals, or should i have a shop do it for me. (im not very experienced and only know basics and can do simple repairs)
thanks

ScottS

Dec 29, 1999
you coul dpick up a service manual for your bike, it will describe the procedure- it is not that hard to do, but if you are unsure of your skills, contact people like MX Tech (link on the left at the bottom) and they can fix you up - probably looking at $150 to do this but i could be estimating high.

dan4011

Sep 12, 2004
ill try to pick up a manual sometime, if i can find one, but do you know where i put the oil in, also, do u think it caused any damage to run the bike without oil in one of the forks

reelrazor

Jun 22, 2004
dan4011 said:
ill try to pick up a manual sometime, if i can find one, but do you know where i put the oil in, also, do u think it caused any damage to run the bike without oil in one of the forks

It didn't help any.