Getting back into Dirt Riding. A few Questions on 250's & 500's

pjb84

Aug 13, 2008
Hey everyone, its been about 4 yrs since I've owned a dirtbike of any kind. I've been riding sportbikes since then and I currently own an R1 (which is for sale). I've been riding some kind of bike since I was 11 yrs old and I'm a pretty experienced rider but have become out of touch with the dirtbike world and I'm hoping you can all answer a few questions I have:

1. I want to get a 2 stroke so I can feel like a kid again. :laugh: How often do these need to be rebuilt and how much does it cost? Can someone who is pretty mechanically inclined do the job at home?

2. Should I sway away from a late 80's CR500 or KX500? How often will these need to be rebuild also? I'm looking at an 88 CR500 which has just been rebuilt.

3. Why do these bikes need to be rebuilt so often? I owned a KDX 220R for 4 yrs and never had to rebuild it and never had ANY problems. It started 1st or 2nd kick everytime.

Thanks guys!

Moparman1539

Sep 9, 2006
Well... i think they say every 15 hours or so. But every year would be a good time to do it. If your not really hard on the bike you could probably go 2 years... And for me it would cost about $200+/- for a new piston and rings and for the cylinder to be honed or bored. It is a pretty easy job to replace the top end. (piston and rings) (have your shop hone/bore/or re-plate the cylinder.) Order the parts and put it on. I did the top end on my Ke100 when i was 15 :cool:. had a little bit of help.

I have a 1983 KX250, and so far its been pretty reliable. Its kinda lacking down low, but has a wicked powerband. The only downfall i really have with the bike is it is hard to find parts for. So try to find the NEWEST bike in your price range and you should be fine. But the older they get the harder they are to find parts for. And Usually the bigger the bore the longer they will last between rebuilds. But don't quote me on that.