I'm a little confused, couple questions.

gargamel

Nov 18, 2005
First off - yes I have a manual. I'm new to dirtbikes, not 2 stroke motors. Been riding and fixing all my own stuff for years. The bike in question is a 2001 RM125 that I have just bought. I have only rode it for like 1/2 hr being it is cold out. The person I bought it from said it has a new clutch basket and top end, but that means nothing till I tear into it :)
Ok the questions-
1. I let it warm up (starts 2 kick in like 15 degree weather) but when I put it in gear it makes a loud clunk then dies, unless I rev the piss out of it and put it in first. I got mixed messages when I read the search cause some said it is like that cause of the cold weather and others said basket notched??? When it was 40 the other weekend and I rode it for that 1/2 hr it got better warm but it would die when come to stop with clutch in and in gear. Out of gear it idles fine. There is no way it will start in gear with clutch pulled.
2. The manual says and the cases say 750ml to fill tranny, then the manual syas to fill till it comes out the fill hole. Well 2 quarts (1600ish ml) later no where near the fill hole. I couldn't tell how much I drained due to the bucket already was half full. Which is it??? I don't want to overfill and mess something up.

I hate buying used but I got a hell of a deal $950 for it. Sorry for the long post but I want to get it shifting so I can dail the jetting in to go ride it. As of now the clunk into first sounds loud but I am use to working on Banshee's and 250r's. I pulled the head off and the piston looks new so I think the guy I bought it from is most likely not saling me a lemon, plus I know where he lives :p

Thanks

1rkcooper

Jan 18, 2006