jtm994

Dec 4, 2006
I am new to 2 strokes and i noticed after i got done riding the other day there was little oil spots under my rear fender. There was also some around the end exhaust pipe. It kinda looked like oil was comming out the pipe. The bike is a 05 KTM 250SX. Is this normal or what?

just_a_rider

Jul 25, 2006
Yes it's perfectly normal, it's called spooge and all 2 strokes produce it if not jetted corectly. It results from a rich carb setting and is not going to harm your bike.

jtm994

Dec 4, 2006
just_a_rider said:
Yes it's perfectly normal, it's called spooge and all 2 strokes produce it if not jetted corectly. It results from a rich carb setting and is not going to harm your bike.
so all i need to do is adjust the jets and it will not do it?

jtm994

Dec 4, 2006
elliot67 said:
Yes, just get your bike jetted. Once ran with the correct gas mixture and jetting it should run spoogeless.
The user manual says 1:40-1:60 ratio. What do you guys recommend the mix ratio should be?

HiG4s

~SPONSOR~
Mar 7, 2001
jtm994 said:
The user manual says 1:40-1:60 ratio. What do you guys recommend the mix ratio should be?

I run 50:1 on my 03 with Mobil 1 Mx2T synthetic, with non-synth I wouldn't go less oil than 40:1.

And as far as jetting,, did you buy new or used, did you get spare jets with the bike? Does it foul plugs too, if so odds are you pilot jet is rich and needs to be changed to one size smaller. If not you may be fairly close.. I've actually had Yamahas that even when jetted well still managed to spooge. But my Husky and 2 KTMs have alway been pretty clean when jetted right.

jtm994

Dec 4, 2006
HiG4s said:
I run 50:1 on my 03,,