Is this normal?

wjp

Nov 15, 2001
Hi,
I would like to know your opinion on my fork suspension. I have just brought a seond hand YZ 250 (2002) and it has some custom suspension on it - I could not get that much detial on it, it it seems about right. However I'm relatively new to MX and there is a table top at my location track that is 55 feet long. At the moment I can't make the landing and are jumping about 45 onto the flat of the tabletop. I'm finding that the suspension totally bottoms (not to the point where you get the 'clack') - its just very hard to absorb this with my body and I'm afraid to push it any further.
My question really is do you think this is about right got the suspension or should it be able to soak this sort of landing up better??

When I went out on the bike the first time the reboud and compression was set up much more plush which was great over the rough stuff but I found that it wasn't soaking up the landings very well and nearly bouncing me off. I clicked the rebound in a bit and the compression up about 3 clicks and its harder work but seems to soak the landings up better.

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
suspension is a comprimise- you want it nice and soft in the roough stuff but firm on big jumps. ideally, you should have the bike set so that it slightly bottoms on the biggest jump of the track.

since the suspension has been modified, you might want to ask the previous owner if he changed the springs- you might be too heavy for the spring setup.

also, you can add a little extra oil to each fork- this will help bottoming.

get Eric Gorrs book, it is all explained in there.

where abouts in the UK are you??? i know of a good suspension tuner in Liecesstershire.

boardadikt

May 20, 2003