snmhanson

Apr 9, 2003
If I listen very close to the engine of my new WR450 I can hear a very slight but regular "clanking" sound. I hesitate to even use the word clanking as it is not loud at all and I only use that word for lack of a better word to describe it. I guess it kind of resembles the "clanking" sound that comes from the deisel engine in my tractor. I suspect it is the sound of the piston going up and down since it is consistent and regular but I am no mechanic and actually pretty ignorant when it comes to engines. I heard a similar sound from my old 2-stroke after I re-built the top end (put in a new piston and cylinder) but I didn't really care about that bike since it was an old POS. So, is this a normal sound (maybe just the sound of the piston and sleeve working things out?) or do I possibly have a clearance problem or something else to worry about. I need to stress that the sound is pretty distant and most of what I hear is the growl (and occasional fart) of the engine. I think I may just have new bike paranoia and any sound other than a deep rumble gets my attention. Maybe I'm making something out of nothing. Any input on this? Thanks.

Matt

BTY, since my bike is brand new and not uncorked yet I also get all of the other "WR450 problems" such as poor starting, lean jetting, bad idling, runs bad when cold, etc... but my mechanic says it will all get dialed in at my first maintainance when it gets all of the mods. Thanks again.

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
Does the sound lessen some when you pull in the clutch? My YZF450 makes some noise from the clutch and always has. It's anoying but I've had no problems.

snmhanson

Apr 9, 2003