babycleatus

Oct 19, 2004
:think: I ve ridden sport qwads and dune buggies all of my life and am trying to decide wether to get a 2002 kdx 200 or a 2001 kx 250. I mostly trail ride but i want to be able to jump some w/o bottoming out the kdx's old school suspension. I also worries me that the KDX has not been changed any sience 1995. what should I do? (remember im new to the sport)

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
The kdx would be something good to start with in a woods situation.

The kx would be handful'o-tiger-by-the-tail...in a woods situation.

The two bikes are so hugely different, the choice shouldn't be that hard. If you're after one bike that will do both woods and track expertly...you'll end up with something that does neither very well.

Bottoming out any suspension isn't so much a matter of 'old school' as it is not properly setting up your suspension in the first place. The suspension travel between the two bikes isn't hugely different...it's not like the kdx has 4" and the kx has 15".

Set your suspension up for jumping and it will beat you to death in the woods....probably.

The underhang of the conventional kdx forks is a bummer.

Make a reasonable decision based on what you are going to be doing. Saying, 'I want to ride single track woods on Saturday and SuperCross on Sunday,' is just plain silly.

Rob1111

Aug 15, 2004
CanynCarvr brought up some good points. If your sticking to really technical tight stuff I'd go with a kdx. If the trails are not to challenging and you want to ride a track aggressively I'd get a kx. My kx can be a pain the in ass in some trails, and great in others. But I'm not going to complain because its an MX bike.

nectar

Sep 11, 2002