eram310

Mar 28, 2006
So it’s the first time I took my new to me KDX 200 to the woods and I had several issues.
First and foremost, I am a beginner in the enduro , hare scramblers stile of riding. I have some experience doing single track on a 250 d/s 4 stroke bikes, but steep hills up and down were a challenge. My first issue is the clutch. I couldn’t completely disengage the clutch by pulling on the clutch lever. Every time I stalled the bike, I had to go to neutral in order to start the bike. Not an always easy task in the middle of hill. I adjusted the free play to minimum, but that didn’t help.
The rest of the problems I had were 2 strokes inherent: Non linear power delivery was the main one. After a full day of riding, (covered 18.5 miles) I still don’t have a feel for the throttle.
I am glad I put the radiator guard and the skid plate and I am sorry I didn’t install the bark busters I received in the mail. I was just lucky not to bust a lever or a finger yesterday.

adam728

Aug 16, 2004
The clutch not disengaging sounds like a basket issue. Once the basket fingers become "notched" or worn the clutch will not properly disengage.

As for non-linear power, what mods does the bike have? Has it been properly jetted? KDX's are often touted as having 4-stroke like power, because it is so smooth with no unexpected hits. Usually it is a faulty power valve or improper jetting that causes the power band to develop a "hit".

KDX CRAZY

Sep 22, 2005
Eram

I think you need to ride the bike more on not so technical terrain and get used to the bike first .
Its not a 4 stroke although it does have a fair amount of bottom end torque .

GabeM

Apr 17, 2002
I agree w/ Crazy, get used to the bike, you will not find a better bike to begin with in the woods, perhaps you were trying to bite off more than you can chew, But I can tell you the KDX will chew if you're up to it.