SAPPER

Nov 30, 2008
I just purchased a 112 cylinder and head from ebay. I'ts brand new and was a spare for a guy. I verified it with LA sleeve. It's the 54.5mm cast sleeve no plating. I know that's good...to an extent. But I didn't ask if it had the butterfly assy for the power valve. But That I can work out when I get it. Hopefully it has one in it so I don't have to buy a new set and machine them.

What I'm asking for is what are the pros and cons.
It currently has a Hotrods bottom end, Bills pipe, PC shorty silencer, Boyesen CF reeds but will have V-force reeds enroute next week, and most of all 428 chain sprocket upgrade. My son was snapping the best 420s weekly. I read an old thread from 2 1/2 yrs ago and it told me some but not a whole lot. I gather there is an over rev problem? any other cons? LA sleeve doesn't advertise this kit but they have the piston/ring kit and for a wiseco, it's cheaper than a stock kit.

I'm an experienced mechanic, and good machinist and a bit of a perfectionist. I've been out of bikes since the 80's but never the left the car world. After a year of working on this bike, I pretty much know it inside and out and mic and spec everything to exact tolerance. Hell, My son is still on his stock clutch and as of 2 months ago it's only .003 under stock spec and it's an 06. He religiously changes oil once a week (3-5 days of hard track riding) using ATF type F (same I did in the 70s and 80s)

I'm planning on a major pilot & rejet project forthcoming but anything would be easier than my quad (i'd rather try to rejet the space shuttle)

Any help in this area would be greatly appreciated. :cool:
SAPPER

Kx85Krazy

Mar 14, 2008