IridiumRed

Sep 19, 2004
Hey Guys

Just bought a 1997 KX500. why didn't anyone ever tell me what monsters these were??

I've been riding for about 10 years. Owned.... 20, 30 bikes? Have some racetrack (roadrace) doing trackdays. Been to a couple race schools.

Owned some big fast sportbikes (modified 95 GSXR1100, fairly stock 01 GSXR1000, supersport prepped 2K GSXR750, heavily modified 94/96 GSXR7/11.... still own the last two)

The King Of The Hill? Was a 1997 GSXR750 with a TURBOCHARGER!! Made 190 rwhp (had a decompression plate, ran 10 lbs intercooled). ATS (american turbo systems) setup. This bike made a couple of national magazine covers a few years ago.

I thought that bike was vicious, and it was. It would try to flip over in 3rd gear at 110. And thats me, flat on the tank, rolling into the gas.... It powerwheelied in third gear like my GSXR1000 did in first. It would pull to about 185 on the speedo (which was probably about 170 actual, due to speedo error/ gearing), but it hit that HARD.... it just ran out of gearing on the top end, pulled to redline

I'm a little guy, 5'4, 155 lbs, so i could put a girl on the back, and we could chase down Busa's, one up, at over 120.....that bike was just scary to ride. My buddies with GSXR1000's and Busa's, they were scared of it, they would ride it and come back and not want to ride it again

Anyways, sorry to ramble, but what i was getting to was that I just bought a 97 KX500. I'm amazed at how hard it runs!!!

Now, you can't ride along at 120 and punch it up to 160 or anything like that, but damn, i'm amazed at how .... VICIOUS this bike is!! Just hopping on it to run around the block, it snarls and snaps, it seems like anything above 1/4 throttle in the first three gears and it wants to wheelie

There doesn't seem to be a "powerband" really. From idle to redline/over-rev, from 0 throttle up there is just tons of power