Looking for a wide ratio kit for my 01 cr250

Fly20

May 1, 2001
Hi, Anybody know of anyone who has or makes a wide ratio gear kit for a CR 250? I had an IMS one once but my wife gave it away when i sold my bike.... anyway have a CR again and am looking for one.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks:mad:

Last edited:

red 450

Oct 27, 2001
You will not find one unless you can come across an old IMS kit. IMS no longer makes the wide ratio kit, they have been asked to remanufacture one but they say that they are not interested. I have been tring to hunt down a wide ratio for the CRF 450 for two months but have had no luck. One possible connection is Moser Racing in Switzerland but have had no luck contacting them. If you do a search on Yahoo or Google for a CRE 250 you will see Moser Racings product.

tmoney

~SPONSOR~
Jan 16, 2002
Pre-01 CRs tranmission gearing?

Do previous year CR's have wider ratio gearing whose parts could be used in the 01? I'd really like a longer second gear.

bikepilot

Nov 12, 2004
I am also looking for a wr kit for my 01 CR250R. Baja Designs makes a kit for a CRF450 - does anyone know if this will work in the 250R? What about 450x or 250x gears?

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
eline makes a 'multi-sport' kit for the CR250. www.elineaccessories.com

Earlier than '01 CRs are also very close ratio. You can extend each gear a little bit by putting on a smaller rear sprocket (I use a 49 rear on my '99 even for tight woods).

Someone told me the 450x 3rd 4th and 5th will work in the newest CR250, but I've only heard from one source and don't know if they will retro-fit to the ealier CR boxes.

bikepilot

Nov 12, 2004