JHNguyen89

Dec 4, 2009
Just got a KDX220 which is my first dirt bike. Having the bike just a tad bit lower would be a bit more confidence inspiring.

I've read that my options are lowering links and/or shaving the seat. Though, it seems like lower links will change the geometry where as shaving the seat obviously gives a bit less padding.

What do you guys suggest? I'm 5'7".

Scotty99983

Dec 5, 2009
id suggest setting your rear shock a little softer maybe as that would cause the back end to go down a bit further when you sit on it. im no expert so thats the way i know how to do it lol.

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
The sag needs to be set correctly regardless of the height of the bike. It will not handle correctly if you have way to much sag in an effort to lower it. You're on the right track with shaving the seat or lowering links, and you're correct that lowering links will change the geometry while shaving the seat will not. Shaving the seat would be the best option, and should give you enough.

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009
Here is another interesting option I stumbled upon...

As you that have been following my saga of the "95 KDX in a bucket" will recall, the bike came with one of the seat frame rails completely detached, and the other badly bent, and the bracket in the middle gone. Must have been one heck of a loop.

So anyway, I had to fabricate replacements for the missing parts, and weld them to the existing surviving bits. I got great help here with people running out to the garage and measuring things. People were very generous with their time.

All was well, then I helped a buddy buy a KDX-220, and another buddy bought a KDX-200, and all three now sit in my garage (never let friends know you have jets laying around and are willing to help doing jetting ;) ).

I looked, and both the other KDX's are about an inch higher then my KDX. Interesting. Looked at suspension parts, preload, etc, and it all looks the same on all three bikes.