Need some advice from the ladies, please

ghunter

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 24, 2001
My wife and I are discussing a bike for her. I've been riding for 25+ years, so I have a pretty good understanding of the different types of bikes available. What we are looking for in this post is any opinions on a particular bike for my wife.

She is about 5'6", 120lbs, very physically fit, strong, agile, and has some experience riding...like 2 or 3 rides on a small, old, bike. I have no doubt she could handle just about anything she could throw her leg over, but I want to get her something that is fun, is not intimidating, relatively light, and that she can use for more than the few months necessary for the learning curve.

We have looked at the KX100, and the TTR-100, both fit her size wize. But I have heard the Yamaha is lacking in power, and I am a bit apprehensive about putting her on a motocross style 2-stroke to start with due to the extreme powerband of the smaller race bikes. I don't want her to be overwhelmed by the 'hit' or bummed out due to the lack of low end torqe. But I also don't want her to have to play 'catch-up' all the time.

I can't ride one and make a meaningful choice because I weigh about 100lbs more than her and I'm used to open-class power so they all seem underpowered to me. She's pregnant now so we have a few months before we'll be making the purchase, but since she can't test ride anything, it makes the decision tough. Plus, it's kinda' hard to convince a dealer to let anyone take a test ride on a showroom new bike.

I ride a KX500 in the SoCal areas which include fireroads, desert terrain, some twisty's, and some hillclimbs. We expect that she will ride in the same areas with me, at least for now.

Any opinions or suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,
Gregg and Nicole

Last edited:

Girlrider

Sep 1, 2000