Need tips for photography at Texas Stadium

justice29

May 5, 2001
Saw a thread recently discussing photography at some of the SX events and was hoping for some advice.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XT that I plan on taking this weekend to the Dallas SX. I plan on using a Canon 70-200 F2.8L IS lens with a Canon 1.4 extender.

Has anyone had problems taking large zoom lens to the SX events?

I'm new to this, so I have basically just used the auto settings. Any suggestions on using the other modes? Shutter speed, aperture, iso, etc.?

Thanks in advance for any advice. Looks like good weather for the weekend!

John

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
As far as trouble with large zooms a buddy of mine had a few issues at early rounds but no one has posted any issues of late. I was at St. Louis and there was many 70-200, 300 and 400 f2.8 and even one dude I saw with a 300-800 Canon that looked like a friggen telescope mounted on his camera.

First advice I'll give is get there the moment the doors open and shoot the practices and afternoon qualifiers, come evening put the camera away and enjoy the show.

As far as the 1.4 tc goes, I'd personally leave it at home. It turns your f2.8 lens into an f4 lens and for this situation you don't want to give up that stop and speed. That being said I've never been to Irving stadium but I understand it's open in the centre so you may have way more light than any of the SX's I've been to.