1Steve

Aug 13, 2002
Hi, I just waisted my front sprocket on my KDX 220. I am a bit new in the game and am at a loss for what to buy to replace it. I see allot of different types of chains and sprockets and I want to buy something decent but do I need to spend 200$ or more to get what I need. Thanks.

Cactus Jim

Apr 1, 2002
Hi 1Steve .....

I'm not sure how you were able to waste your front sprocket, but "Rocky Mountain" at http://www.rockmountainatv.com sells several brands, including Renthal, which are good and around $16 for the KDX. They come from 12 to 15 teeth. Lots of chains there to choose from, depending on what you want to spend, starting around $29 for a D.I.D.

Good Luck ......

1Steve

Aug 13, 2002
Thanks Jim,
I'm not sure either. I think it is a problem with my chain. The last couple of rides I had to tighten it up a bit. I have been keeping an eye on it and lubercating it before every ride but this last ride I didn't check it out before hand and 10 miles into my ride the chain started skipping on the front sprocket. The tips of the sprocket broke off. I want to replace the chain and the rear sprocket as well.

I wouldn't mind getting a little more on the bottom end. Should I go to a smaller front sprocket or a larger rear sprocket?

Fred T

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 23, 2001
I recently replaced my sprockets and chain with new from MX South. (Sponser her on the left) Total cost was $116.00 I used steel JT Sprockets and an RK X ring chain. I have not had to adjust it yet after 600 miles on it. You can get a 13/48 combo that will give a slight boost vs stock 47 rear and still use the std 108 link chain. If given proper care this chain/sprocket combo will last you a couple years depending on how much you ride.

GREENBEAN

Jan 8, 2000