KX'er

Oct 12, 2000
I'm trying to set up my '00 KX250 so that the suspnsion is half way decent. First off, I'm pretty sure that the shock spring is a progessive spring, and I would benifit by going to a straight rate. Is this correct? If I do change it, do I need to change the fork springs as well? They are the correct rate for my wieght, but I am not sure if they are progressive springs or not, and if I would benifit by changing to straight rate if they are progressive. Which leads me to another question: How difficult is it to change the fork springs? Would I have to empty the oil?

I don't really want to mess with my forks myself, since I've never done it before, nor seen it done. I called one place to see how much it would be for them to change the oil and seals and they quoted me $150. This seems a little high to me. What is a fair price?

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
KX.er, its not hard to change the springs and oil and $150 is way out there, you could get a revalve at some places for that!

i am in san diego and would be happy to help you do it, its really not that hard. If you want to take it somewhere, then try clairemont cycle supply on clairmont mesa blvd. Jamie is a good guy and fair with prices i expect he can get hold of the springs you desire also, but get the advice on here for the best rates etc before you try to order them!

bigred455

"LET'S JUST RIDE"
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 12, 2000