New to MX - Why change your handle bars?

m14cus

Mar 27, 2007
Hi

I'm new to MX and have just bought a used 02 cr125. It came with some taper bars and have been raised.

I have since realised that they are bent and need replacing.

So my question is under what circumstance would I want to raise the bars and what type of handlebars should I go for. Should I take the piece that raises the bars out?

I had never ridden a MX bike before and have no intension of racing its just to mess around on with my son.

Thanks for the input

cheers

Marcus

oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
It is all a personal comfort preferance. You will need to ride it to get a feel for where you want them set.
It takes a pretty hard crash to bend ProTapers so before buying new ones (unless of course you can actually see they are bent) be sure your front tire isn't just tweaked out of line. Does it feel like the bars just are not straight when you are riding straight? If so try twisting the front end into alignment. Easiest way once you determine which way they need to go to be straight is to stand facing the bike with the front wheel between your legs to keep the wheel straight. Now grab the bars and jerk them sharply toward a true position (you can also use a tree or car bumper to hold the wheel in place). Sometimes they can't be easily pulled in which case you should loosen the 8 bolts holding the fork tubes in place and then twist it. Be sure to retighten the bolts when done and be carefull not to overtighten them. If you have a torque wrench do it right and tighten to the torque specs

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005