ksilva

Nov 27, 2007
Hey Guys & Girls,

I’m new to the sport and haven’t done anything to my bike yet.

So I purchased an Applied Triple Clamp (top) for my 97 cr250 and now need to get a good set of handle bars to go with it. It has the clamps to use with fatter bars if that makes any sense.

I was looking into Pro Taper bars, but I’m not quite sure. I checked motosport.com and found that Pro Taper has really good reviews. Is it just a preference thing?

Thanks for your time,

Kevin

PS. What are some good grips out there on the market? I herd good things about those new pillow tops.

:ride:

ksilva

Nov 27, 2007
IndyMX said:
I have a set of Pro Taper Contour bars on my 125.. I like them. Much better feel than the stock 7/8" bars.

Yea? I was looking into thoes.... Thanks for the help!

JD_MXRacer

Nov 27, 2006
renthal fat bars are very sturdy as well. It basically all comes down to feel when picking out bars. Go somewhere where you can actually pick up the bars to feel the difference in the different sweeps.

snb73

Nov 30, 2003
You will probably get many varied opinions. That being said, my last 3 bars have been ProTapers. Contours are great value for the money. Just bought a set of EVO's but haven't had a chance to try them.

Bars come in different heights and and pull back. Most taller guys like taller bars, as for pullback, find what feels good for you.

Grips come in three styles; full waffle, half waffle and no waffle. And to make it more interesting you can get each of those in soft, medium and firm. Again, get what feels good to you.

Post your height, I'm sure someone can get in the ball park for bar height.

I'm 5' 11" and like the Windam/RM-Mid bend with Renthal smooth grips in medium firmness.

Hope this helps, Steve.

yamarider88

Jun 24, 2007