OK one more time...KIPS

WoWman

Jun 23, 2002
OK I was riding today on my KDX and realized it was time to clean out the kIPS.

It has absolutly NO power down low! When idling i crack it open a bit and nothing happens, just kind of bogs. Power is great at about 6k up, but I don't ride there much.

SO this week I will tear her down and clean out the power valve gunk, or replace or whatnot. Now what I need to know is what I am in for, how big a job it is to do this.

I will probly have to replace all the power valve gears as I'm sure they are all striped out by now, it's been at least 5 years.

So...what parts will I most likely need to replace?

Also are there any good explanation pages out there on how to do this? I could probly figure it out, but as you can tell I've never done this before on a powervalved 2 smoke!

OT when did these guys get here! :flame: :yeehaw: :thumb: :worship:

Last edited:

Kazoo

Jul 22, 2002
Cleaning out your power valves is not a big deal. I just did mine along with a refreshed top end. First thing you need to do is get a shop manual. Also, go to the JustKDX web site (http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/) and check out the KIPS routine as posted by New Mexico KDXer Brian Kimsey, under Tech Tips.

More than likely, the valves will be carboned and spoogy. If so, you'll have to work with them a bit to get them out. Just follow your manual and Brian's suggestions -- they helped me a tonne. Another thing, make certain you keep track of everything you take out, where its supposed to go and how its supposed to go back in -- especially keep track of what subvalves go on the left vs. the right. I was lucky enough to have a riding buddy help me who knew how the system worked. If not, I might have had some problems. Before you take them out, I would suggest you manually open and close them so that you can see and fully understand how they work.

Finally, good luck. My bike ran pretty well before I did them, but its even crisper and stronger now.

Kazoo