JohnRaven.exe

Jun 5, 2006
Theres been a few threads floating around about people painting/wanting to paint they're frames. So, it has got me thinking a bit... (As the title says...) I have a '86 Yamaha XT350... Its white and red. I would like to paint it black & silver, but I don't think it would work too great painting the plastic's on it. And if I did paint the frame, I want it to STICK... What do you guys think, keep it the traditional white & red, paint it black & silver, paint it pink, lol ???? I need suggestions!!! :nod:

Thanks!!

destructo

Feb 24, 2006
I think it would be pretty tight black and silver, Im an auto paint tech by trade, I would sand the frame really well with 400 grit then go around all the edges really good with a red scotch bright pad ( also equivelent to 400 grit just gets in the grooves a little better) if you can try and use a small gravity feed gun with a urethane base/clear paint it will work excellent. First spray a universal non-sanding sealer before you apply base, then clear. As for the plastics even scuffing really well and a plastic adhesive promoter, the paint will only stay on the very flexible plastic for a short time before cracking and trying to peal. I would look in to just replacing the plastics with new, their pretty cheap. Thats an awesome trail bike, Im thinking about selling the yz450 and getting something like a ttr 250 or something, just because I trail ride more than MX, and I really like blasting through the woods at night, Kinda has a Star Wars land speeder feel to it.

jason33

Oct 21, 2006
sand blast it, and primer it, seal it, paint it, clear it
plastics look good painted as well
i have a spare seat for it if your interested ,rear fender too-- cheep!!

JohnRaven.exe

Jun 5, 2006
Thanks for the replys!!!