"Ping" sound after pilot jet change - '99 KDX200

paul6585

~SPONSOR~
Aug 27, 2002
'99 KDX 200 Air box lid is removed and silencer is stock. I ride near sea level in NJ. Jetting was 45/155. I recently added a pro circuit pipe, did WOT chop then changed main to 152. Air screw was 3 turns out (since 1 yr when I purchased) and low end a bit sluggish so I switched pilot to 42. Engine seems more responsive on low end but now I have a distinct pinging sound when lugging around at low rpm and I am concerned. I recall a recent thread mentioning pinging but can't find it. can anyone provide some insight?
I also went through a new set of brake pads in about 100 miles (mostly mud) is this normal? I am fairly new to dirt bikes.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
How many turns out was the airscrew with the 42?  Seems like the 45 at 3 turns out would be as lean as the 42 all the way in.  What about your needle?  Stock? Stock position? 

Lugging around at low rpm is the easiest way to make an engine ping, and it if runs good everywhere else and only pings then, your jetting must be pretty close.  I'd look to fine tuning like raising the needle (put the clip on a lower groove) one notch or turning in the airscrew a little.  Weather conditions can also be a factor.  If you were well jetted for poor summer air and were riding on a cool day with good air, that could have contributed. 

Re: brake pads, mud is much harder on pads, but the stock KDX pads usually are pretty long lived.  In extreme conditions, 100 miles might be about right, but you should normally get much better life than that on the stock pads.  If you are unknowingly dragging your brakes (pedal to high?) or have some air in the system (seems common on Kawasakis), that could certainly shorten pad life.