mbl

Jun 12, 2003
I have noticed that few people on this board are actually mixing at 32:1 as the manual for my 03 220 states. Why is that?

Is the manual spec just being very conservitive? I am using Mobile MX2T and I am thinking of mixing at 42:1 or 40:1, as I have seen several suggest through the searches I have done on here. This seems reasonable to me.

Does anyone care to, or have time to comment on this?
TIA,
Brian

KAY DEE EXER

~SPONSOR~
Mar 3, 2003
I'm no expert but from what I've read I think it depends on what the oil maker recommends. I'm pretty sure some oils are different but I'm sure someone else will correct me if I'm wrong.

XRDadKDXBeni

Aug 27, 2002
There is mucho discussion on this within the history of this site. Lots of factors are considered - type of riding, manufacturers recommendations, etc etc, etc. One thing is for sure, in general, the less oil in the mix, the less lubrication. 32:1 is a standard mix ratio - going with less oil is fine as well, i.e., some manufacturers of oil recommend mix ratio of 100:1. Our bikes run fine on 32:1 and sometimes we mix at 40:1; the only noticeable difference I can see in our experience is there is less smoke from the exhaust.

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
You WILL make more power with more oil. That's a fact.

Balance is the issue (sez me). Somewhere between more power, more smoke, more plug problems and the least amount oil used (it does cost a good bit), no smoke and error free plug firing is where you probably want to be.

32:1 is certainly safe, and thus 'recommended' by the mfg. OEM jetting is 'safe', too! Doesn't mean that adjustment to both won't be of benefit to you.

Last edited:

MUDMAX

Jan 7, 2003
CANYNCARVR says:
"You WILL make more power with more oil. That's a fact."

....mmmmmh (scepticism here)...

...think we should read:
You WILL make more SMOKE with more oil....

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
Be skeptical all you want. It's a fact.